Go to main content

Team

Illustration "Team"

Ellen Heinrichs

Founder & CEO, Bonn Institute

Ellen Heinrichs began her career at the regional newspaper Rheinische Post and came to Germany's foreign broadcaster Deutsche Welle (DW) via positions at international organisations. A trained journalist, she first helped establish the DW Akademie and then drove digitalisation in DW's programming. She helped found the internal network DW Minds and the DW Innovation Lab. She was the first German to be a fellow at the Constructive Institute at Aarhus University in Denmark. Heinrichs is a speaker, Agile Culture Coach and Solutions Journalism Trainer. She is currently training to become a certified mediator.

ellen.heinrichs@bonn-institute.org
Alex Saengerlaub schaut freundlich in die Kamera

Alexander Sängerlaub

Head of Future of Journalism

Well-informed societies are Alexander Sängerlaub's idea of utopia. In 2014 he founded Kater Demos, Germany's first constructive political magazine, serving as its director and editor in chief. At Stiftung Neue Verantwortung, a Berlin-based think tank, Sängerlaub developed the organisation's expertise on strengthening the digital public sphere while also leading projects on disinformation and digital news literacy. As director of the think-and-do tank futur eins, he advises non-governmental organisations, foundations and policymakers on the structural changes caused by digitalisation. Additionally, Sängerlaub has served as an external expert in the German Parliament's committee on digital affairs.

alex.saengerlaub@bonn-institute.org futur eins

Peter Lindner

Head of Democracy, Journalism and Innovation

Peter Lindner worked at the German national daily Süddeutsche Zeitung for a long time, spending almost 12 years as head of the politics section and more than six years as deputy editor-in-chief of SZ.de. He worked intensively on new approaches in journalism and developed several digital formats and projects, such as the SZ discussion project "Werkstatt Demokratie" (democracy workshop). Most recently, he worked on the "Listen Louder Project" at the Constructive Institute, housed at Denmark's University of Aarhus, where he researched approaches to how journalism can promote constructive dialogue in society. He studied political science, sociology and psychology in Munich and Bradford, UK.

peter.lindner@bonn-institute.org
Foto von Donata von Below Ritter

Donata v. Below-Ritter

Communication & Events

Constructive communication is what Donata von Below-Ritter is all about: She studied theatre and media at the University of Bayreuth, as well as international media studies at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences and the DW Akademie in Bonn. She gained experiences both in front of and behind the camera and provided copywriting at the international agency Ogilvy & Mather in Dusseldorf. Von Below-Ritter also has served in editorial capacities for the Rheinische Post newspaper and German TV station Phoenix. She currently manages the Bonn Institute's internal and external communications and is always looking at the world with diverse perspectives.

donata.v.below@bonn-institute.org

Lilly Amankwah

Projects

Lilly Amankwah likes to ask questions, both of herself and others. As a journalist and podcast host, she is interested in our societies' big topics, including from a social sciences perspective thanks to her studies in this area. For Lilly, it's important to be aware of diverse perspectives, especially those that are rarely given attention or even oftentimes entirely overlooked. At the Bonn Institute, the journalist not only asks questions but also looks for solutions.

lilly.amankwah@bonn-institute.org
Foto von Lisa Urlbauer

Lisa Urlbauer

Journalism Training Coordinator

For Lisa Urlbauer, nothing beats constructive journalism. Following stints in Aarhus, Amsterdam, Valencia and New York, she joined the Bremen daily newspaper Weser-Kurier as a journalism trainee. She spent two years working for the Solutions Journalism Network in New York and Germany and has promoted the uptake of solutions-oriented journalism in Europe ever since. Her efforts to spread the practice earned her the Grow Fellowship from Netzwerk Recherche, a German non-profit dedicated to strengthening quality journalism. Lisa Urlbauer coordinates the Bonn Institute's journalism training programs and events and is an expert für local journalism.

lisa.urlbauer@bonn-institute.org
Foto von Prof. Dr. Katja Ehrenberg

Katja Ehrenberg

Skillsharing & Methods

Katja Ehrenberg is passionate about the intersection of theory and practice. An expert in solutions-oriented communication, she's interested in what inspires human development. At age 35 she was invited to become a professor of business and media at the Hochschule Fresenius, an applied sciences university in Cologne, where she also helped design the school's psychology program. Ehrenberg, who has a doctorate in psychology, has authored numerous publications in her field and worked as a freelance organisational consultant for a diverse range of companies.

katja.ehrenberg@bonn-institute.org Katja Ehrenberg
Jens Niggemann lächelt in die Kamera

Jens Niggemann

Business Manager

When it comes to expenses, Jens Niggemann is an expert. Before joining the Bonn Institute, Niggemann managed finances for the Deutscher Volkshochschul-Verband (Association of German Adult Education Centres) in Bonn. He also served as a long-term advisor for Agiamondo, a Catholic development organisation dedicated to supporting civil society worldwide. In addition to business administration skills, Niggemann brings a wealth of cross-cultural knowledge and extensive experience working with diverse sponsors to the Bonn Institute.

jens.niggemann@bonn-institute.org
Chiara Swenson

Chiara Swenson

Projects

The courage to embrace change – this is what Chiara Swenson would like to find more of in the journalism sector. That's why she is focusing her master's in journalism and communication science on transformative working journalists, their role perceptions and their expectations. She is particularly interested in constructive climate reporting. Chiara also has experience in designing and producing non-fictional audio-visual content. In her spare time, she works on creative projects and manages communication for a queer-feminist collective in Leipzig.

chiara.swenson@bonn-institute.org
Ein Bild von Cristina Burack

Cristina Burack

English Editor

As a writer, editor and translator, Cristina Burack loves to inhabit the space between cultures and languages. She is fascinated by intercultural knowledge transfer and believes we can all benefit by seeing and sharing differences. In addition to the Bonn Institute, she also works for Deutsche Welle (DW) as a journalist. Cristina studied classical music and history in the United States and European Studies in London. Her previous professional stops include a London-based international PR agency and the Berlin office of a German parliamentarian.

cristina.burack@bonn-institute.org

Stay informed...

Knowledge transfer, debates, events – our b° newsletter shows you what constructive journalism can do for the industry and society. Stay informed by subscribing to our newsletter.

Sign up

Zum Hauptinhalt der Seite springen

Team

Illustration "Team"

Ellen Heinrichs

Gründerin & Geschäftsführerin

Ellen Heinrichs begann ihre Karriere bei der Rheinischen Post und kam über Stationen bei internationalen Organisationen zur Deutschen Welle. Die ausgebildete Journalistin trieb erst den Aufbau der DW Akademie und dann die Digitalisierung im Programm der Deutschen Welle voran. Sie initiierte die Gründung des internen Netzwerks DW Minds und des DW-Innovationslabs. Als erste Deutsche war sie Fellow am Constructive Institute der Universität Aarhus/Dänemark. Ellen Heinrichs ist Speakerin, Agile Culture Coach und Solutions Journalism Trainerin. Derzeit bildet sie sich zur zertifizierten Mediatorin fort.

ellen.heinrichs@bonn-institute.org
Alex Saengerlaub schaut freundlich in die Kamera

Alexander Sängerlaub

Leiter Programmbereich Zukunft des Journalismus

Gut informierte Gesellschaften sind die Utopie, die Alexander Sängerlaub antreibt. 2014 gründete er mit Kater Demos das erste konstruktive Politikmagazin Deutschlands, das er als Chefredakteur und Geschäftsführer leitete. In der Stiftung Neue Veranwortung baute er den Bereich »Stärkung digitaler Öffentlichkeit« mit auf, in dem er Projekte zu Desinformation und Nachrichtenkompetenz verantwortete. Als Direktor des Think & Do Tanks futur eins begleitet er NGOs, Stiftungen und Politik zu Fragen des digitalen Strukturwandels. Seine Expertise führte ihn u.a. als Sachverständigen in den Ausschuss Digitale Agenda des Deutschen Bundestages.

alex.saengerlaub@bonn-institute.org futur eins

Peter Lindner

Leiter Programmbereich Demokratie, Journalismus & Innovation

Peter Lindner hat lange für die Süddeutsche Zeitung gearbeitet, fast 12 Jahre als Ressortleiter Politik und mehr als 6 Jahre als stv. Chefredakteur von SZ.de. Er beschäftigte sich intensiv mit neuen Ansätzen im Journalismus und entwickelte mehrere digitale Formate und Projekte, wie das SZ-Diskursprojekt „Werkstatt Demokratie“. Zuletzt forschte er am Constructive Institute an der Universität Aarhus/Dänemark beim „Listen Louder Project“ zur Frage, wie Journalismus den konstruktiven Austausch in der Gesellschaft befördern kann. Er studierte Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie und Psychologie in München und Bradford, UK.

peter.lindner@bonn-institute.org
Foto von Donata von Below Ritter

Donata v. Below-Ritter

Kommunikation und Events

Kommunikation konstruktiv gestalten: Donata v. Below-Ritter studierte Theater und Medien an der Universität Bayreuth sowie International Media Studies an der Hochschule Bonn/Rhein-Sieg und der DW Akademie in Bonn. Sie hat Erfahrungen vor und hinter der Kamera gesammelt und ist gelernte Werbetexterin. Weitere Stationen sind redaktionelle Arbeit bei der Rheinischen Post und dem Sender Phoenix. Jetzt kommuniziert sie für das Bonn Institute nach innen und außen – immer mit einem perspektivenreichen Blick auf die Welt.

donata.v.below@bonn-institute.org

Lilly Amankwah

Projektmitarbeit

Lilly Amankwah stellt gerne Fragen, sowohl sich selbst als auch anderen. Als Journalistin und Podcast-Host interessieren sie die großen Themen unserer Gesellschaft – und das auch aus wissenschaftlicher Perspektive, denn Sozialwissenschaften hat sie studiert. Wichtig ist der Journalistin, immer die verschiedensten Perspektiven im Blick zu haben, vor allem solche, die oft überhört werden, oder nur ganz leise zu vernehmen sind. Beim Bonn Institute stellt Lilly nun nicht nur Fragen, sondern sucht auch nach Lösungen.

lilly.amankwah@bonn-institute.org
Foto von Lisa Urlbauer

Lisa Urlbauer

Koordinatorin Journalistische Trainings

Am liebsten konstruktiv: Nach Stationen in Aarhus, Amsterdam, Valencia und New York volontierte Lisa Urlbauer beim Weser-Kurier in Bremen. Sie arbeitete zwei Jahre für das amerikanische Solutions Journalism Network in New York und Deutschland und engagiert sich seitdem für eine stärkere Verbreitung von lösungsorientiertem Journalismus in Europa. Dafür wurde sie mit dem Grow-Stipendium vom Netzwerk Recherche ausgezeichnet. Beim Bonn Institute koordiniert Lisa Urlbauer journalistische Trainings und ist Ansprechpartnerin für den Lokaljournalismus.

lisa.urlbauer@bonn-institute.org
Foto von Prof. Dr. Katja Ehrenberg

Prof. Dr. Katja Ehrenberg

Skillsharing und Methoden

Sie liebt den Transfer zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis: Als Expertin für lösungsorientierte Kommunikation interessiert Katja Ehrenberg alles, was menschliche Entwicklung inspiriert. Mit 35 Jahren wurde sie als Professorin in den Fachbereich Wirtschaft und Medien der Hochschule Fresenius in Köln berufen und baute dort die Studienprogramme der Psychology School mit auf. Die studierte Psychologin hat zahlreiche Fachpublikationen vorgelegt und als freie Systemische Beraterin Organisationen diverser Branchen unterstützt.

katja.ehrenberg@bonn-institute.org Katja Ehrenberg
Jens Niggemann lächelt in die Kamera

Jens Niggemann

Kaufmännischer Leiter

Er ist der Fachmann für die administrativen Herausforderungen: Bevor er zum Bonn Institute kam, verwaltete Betriebswirt Jens Niggemann die Finanzen im Internationalen Institut (DVV International) des Deutschen Volkshochschulverbandes in Bonn. Auch als Berater für Finanzadministration bei der Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Entwicklungshilfe (AGEH e.V., heute: Agiamondo e.V.) war er lange tätig. Die Erfahrungen mit unterschiedlichen Geldgebern und Menschen aus unterschiedlichsten Kulturkreisen bringt er nun als Kaufmännischer Leiter am Bonn Institute ein.

jens.niggemann@bonn-institute.org
Chiara Swenson

Chiara Swenson

Projektmitarbeit

Mut zur Veränderung, das ist, was Chiara Swenson sich im Journalismus wünscht. Deshalb beschäftigt sie sich seit ihrem Masterstudium in Journalistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Universität Hamburg mit transformativen journalistischen Rollenbildern und konstruktiver Klimaberichterstattung. Sie bringt Erfahrungen in der Konzeption und Produktion non-fiktionaler audiovisueller Inhalte mit und sammelte bereits journalistische Expertise. In ihrer Freizeit arbeitet Sie an verschiedenen kreativen Projekten und kommuniziert für ein queerfeministisches Veranstaltungskollektiv.

chiara.swenson@bonn-institute.org
Ein Bild von Cristina Burack

Cristina Burack

Freie Redakteurin für Englisch

Als Autorin, Redakteurin und Übersetzerin liebt es Cristina Burack, sich im Raum zwischen den Kulturen und Sprachen zu bewegen. Sie ist fasziniert vom interkulturellen Wissenstransfer und glaubt, dass wir alle davon profitieren können, wenn wir Unterschiede sehen und teilen. Neben dem Bonn Institute arbeitet sie auch für die Deutsche Welle (DW) als Journalistin. Cristina hat klassische Musik und Geschichte in den Vereinigten Staaten und European Studies in London studiert. Zu ihren früheren beruflichen Stationen gehören eine internationale PR-Agentur in London und das Berliner Büro eines deutschen Bundestagsabgeordneten.

cristina.burack@bonn-institute.org

b° Newsletter: Schon dabei?

Wir wollen Euch auf den neusten Stand bringen, wie Journalismus sich für Medien und Gesellschaft lohnen kann, in dem er lösungsorientierter, perspektivenreicher und konstruktiver berichtet. Mit Best-Practice-Beispielen, Veranstaltungstipps, unserer Arbeit am Bonn Institute oder tollen Menschen aus unserer Community versorgen wir euch 14-täglich mit Informationen. Melde Dich an: b° there or b° square!

Anmelden